PRSA-NY is now accepting entries for the 2016 Big Apple Awards, a prestigious annual program honoring outstanding public relations campaigns and projects developed or implemented in and around New York City.

Read through the snapshot information below or use the navigation menu to the left to find out more and start your entry today. Good luck!


Six Brand New Master Categories
Entries are now being accepted for the 28th annual Big Apple Awards! Submit your best work of 2015 in one (or more) of nearly 80 distinct award categories - including several that are brand new for 2016:

  • The Next Big Thing (Innovative Approaches to Execution) 

  • Infographics 

  • Target Marketing for Animal Care, Men, Women, and Youth (each with subcategories)

View the full list of categories and descriptions


Improved Online Entry Process
Now in its third year, the OMNI online entry system is a powerful but easy-to-use tool for the Big Apple Awards community. For 2016 we introduced a few upgrades to make the submission process easier for you and the review process easier for the panel of judges.

  • Required fields have been created for information previously requested in the two-page summaries; we have also provided opportunities for you to provide supplemental information – text, charts, graphics, presentations, research, or other assets – that you think may give your entry a competitive edge!
  • Certifications have been added to clarify the geographic area of focus for your campaign (either developed within the New York metro region or developed elsewhere for execution in the New York area)

Find out more and start your entry today!


Emmanuel Tchividjian, SVP at Ruder Finn, has collected tips and techniques for writing a winning Big Apple entry from industry experts, former judges, and recent award winners.  Read their advice for clearly communicating program goals, describing program tactics, and highlighting measurable results to maximize your chances of winning one of the most prestigious awards in the communications industry. 



Entry Deadlines & Discounts
Discounts are available for current PRSA-NY chapter members and for entering the same campaign into up to three categories at the same time.

  • Enter by the Early Bird Deadline of 11:59 pm (Eastern) on Sunday, February 14th to save and additional $100 on each entry
  • All entries are due by midnight on February 29th 
  • Sorry ... no extensions beyond the deadlines will be granted

Click here for full competition rates and need to know information

Finalist Notifications & Award Presentation
Finalists will be notified the week of April 4th. Awards will be presented during the annual Big Apple Gala at the Mandarin Oriental New York on Thursday evening, June 2nd.


The PRSA-NY Big Apple Awards are the gold standard of excellence for PR practitioners in the New York metro area and celebrate the tremendous work of PR agencies, companies, governmental bodies, and not-for-profit organizations implemented during the prior year. Multiple exclusive and non-exclusive sponsorship packages are available to position your company or brand in front of the nation’s largest and most influential workforce of professional communicators.

View the 2016 Sponsorship Opportunities


The New York Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America established the Big Apple Awards program in 1988 to encourage excellence in public relations. The program has evolved to keep pace with a rapidly changing industry and continues celebrate the exciting and innovative successes of talented professionals working in the heart of the communications universe. Today, a Big Apple Award is recognized as one of the highest honors bestowed in public relations.

Learn more about the Big Apple Awards, including the scope, criteria and "Best of" awards


For technical assistance regarding the online entry process, e-mail BigAppleAwards@prsany.org, or call 212.228.7228

Click here for a full contact list for the 2016 Big Apple Awards team

Our Partners

From Our Advertisers